Orange Slices: USA vs. Ecuador

Orange Slices! USA vs. Ecuador

Orange Slices is our game day, catch-all post that we update during the day before the match
———

This ain’t your adolescent Honduras.

The USA welcomes Ecuador to the cement concrete confines of Red Bull Arena in Harrison, NJ. Game five of the Jurgen Klinsmann era. Will it still be the Orozco Fiscal era? Good question.

A welcome homecoming today for Tim Howard (MetroStars), Michael Bradley (MetroStars) Jozy Altidore (Red Bulls), Juan Agudelo (Red Bulls) and Tim Ream (Red Bulls).

Kickoff today at 7pm ET, 4pm PT.

Broadcast:

ESPN returns to the press box for this USMNT game. That means a crisper picture and internet coverage. Thank you ESPN. The Spanish broadcast by Univision–who do a great job as well.

Alexi Lalas in the studio for the Ocho, 30 minutes before the first Beckerman tackle.

As always if you have a stream for the ex-pats drop it below.

TSG Coverage

TSG’s OFFICIAL USA vs. ECUADOR PREVIEW
Live Commentary: Right here at TSG*

Around the web:

Podcasts that are worth it:

» These guys clean-up well. The Best Soccer Show kicks off with an inaugural episode dedicated to Chuck Blazer look-a-like, Dr. Ruth…and some Honduras commentary of course.

» The Total Soccer Show juxtaposes their review of USA vs. Honduras with some datapoints from Opta.

Reading material:

» An excellent contrarian view to the Donovan-Dempsey expectation-versus-achievement debate. Good stuff.

...but can he score off the pitch!

» Soccer Over There breaks down Herculez Gomez’s astounding record coming off the bench south of the border.

» Legacy: The Jose Torres Vortex

Weather forecast:

Remember those picturesque Fall days where you couldn’t wait to finish 8th period, so you could get to soccer practice and then go grab some pizza with the guys afterward because it was so nice.

Nice job Harrison, NJ….way to outclass Miami Gardens, FL. 65-to-70 and sunny at the start tomorrow.

Surf forecast:

C’mon…not this time buddy. Asbury Park, your closest break. But wait there’s a hurricane! Yes, but that’s on the Pacific Coast so San Francisco doesn’t get any USMNT matches, but it’ll get some waves.

Not much else on the surf here so we’ll give you these two random nuggets:

» Sunny Garcia (d*ck) talking smack to Kelly Slater on Twitter.

» And a classic from 2008: You’re not gnarly unless you’ve dodged a jet ski at Teauhpoo. Fact!

Public Service Announcement:

Mr. Chopper...

» Coming to a theater near you. The Jay DeMerit Story. Nice work all around. Check out the locations here…..or check out our interview with Jay’s….beard, yes beard, from earlier this year.

How goes against the Galapagos:

The US-Ecuador Series:

  • The U.S. holds a 2-4-4 record against Ecuador, but both wins have come in the last two meetings.
  • After only scoring two goals in eight games (both in a 2-2 draw on Dec. 2, 1984), the U.S. finally earned their first victory against Ecuador on March 10, 2002, with a 1-0 victory in Birmingham, Ala.
  • A young Tim Howard earned his first cap and first shutout that day.
  • In the next match of the series, the U.S. was led by all-time leading goalscorer Landon Donovan who registered a hat trick in a 3-1 victory on March 25, 2007, in Tampa, Fla.

44 responses to this post.

  1. For all the talk of which players should/shouldn’t play I mostly just want to see the same shape we saw on Saturday, with a clearly defined DM and support striker. Plus less giveaways from the back, if possible please.

    Reply

  2. Also, thanks for the link TSG, much obliged.

    Reply

  3. Posted by crow on 2011/10/11 at 6:23 AM

    Not to be THAT GUY, but i think the picture quality in ESPN’s broadcasts are generally “poor”. I know I’m not the only one who thinks so. That’s one area where I think FSC has ESPN beat. ESPN generally has a grainy feed, especially in poor lighting, and not just in soccer. Technically, both broadcast in 720p. ESPN always has more cameras though, and their directing is much better. They kill FSC when it comes to sound as well. Although ESPN usually picks up vulgar chants coming from AO.

    On a side note, I’m wondering what is going to happen with the supporter groups. Apparently AO has been punished the last two games for the idiots who decide to continue with the vulgar chants despite AO asking for it to stop. I certainly support this as well but have mixed feelings about a lot of things. I had been saying and trying since 2009 to promote new songs/chants but it seemed to fall on deaf ears until now. The whole supporter group initiative has seemed to hit a stale period. I really hope it continues to grow. I haven’t attended a game since the Gold Cup Final despite games being on the East Coast and wanting to see the team in person under JK. That game was just such a bad experience. The support for the USA was pathetic and disgusting, although after going through hell at the Rose Bowl, I understand why more people did not attend. Even though CONCACAF was in charge, I still don’t think the USSF did enough or does enough in general to support their fans. It seems that they are more interested in making money than supporting the groups and fans that support the team. After going to several games over the last four years, it may be awhile until I decide to attend another game.

    Reply

    • Posted by crow on 2011/10/11 at 6:28 AM

      And can ESPN3 please be made available on more ISPs? Heck ill even pay for access! It’s ridiculous that i have broadband internet on the East Coast and can’t access ESPN3. I HATE century link but its literally the only ISP available. And they are a national company. The Sounders/Seahawks stadium is even named Century Link field.

      Reply

      • Posted by Jake C. on 2011/10/11 at 1:27 PM

        Speaking of, any ideas on whether the WatchESPN app will become available to more ISP’s? Looks awesome but I can’t use it.

        Reply

    • Posted by Jared on 2011/10/11 at 6:42 AM

      I love ESPN’s picture quality because I don’t have the option to get FSC HD. I just think in general, their presentation is better than what you get from FSC.

      Start complaining to Century Link about ESPN3. It’s on them to negotiate a deal with ESPN. Or just find a friend/family member that is willing to give you their username and password for one of the supported cable providers. I used my mother’s comcast account details when I had Time Warner down south.

      Reply

      • Posted by crow on 2011/10/11 at 7:01 AM

        Trust me I’ve contacted Century Link many, many times. They are a very poorly run company. I could go on and on about their equipment and customer support. As hard as this may be to believe, I’m the guy who receives the wrong order at a restaurant and eats it anyway. I’m really not hard to please. I get angry when “basics” are not met, though.

        Good point about the password. My brother in law has Comcast. I’ll have to see if i can use his login information to access ESPN3. Thanks.

        Reply

    • Posted by A-Ron on 2011/10/11 at 6:42 AM

      Just because you qualify a phrase,”Not to be a _______”, does not mean that you are not being that __________, in this case, that guy. I can’t ever remember thinking FSC had a better feed than ESPN… except for maybe when the boys played in Havana where the lighting was poor. I don’t think you can even put that on the broadcaster, it’s not like they are going to bring temp lights in Barbados or T&T… up to the home team.

      Reply

      • Posted by crow on 2011/10/11 at 6:52 AM

        I’m a pretty big videophile and stand by my statement on the picture quality of Fox compared to ESPN.

        Reply

    • Posted by Antonio H. on 2011/10/11 at 3:55 PM

      AO has ceased with the vulgar cjants. USSF is treating us like children by taking away the banners. But apparently they didn’t know how else to “punish” us. All is really was was the YSA chant….

      Reply

  4. Posted by Rocky on 2011/10/11 at 7:18 AM

    For the record, it’s “concrete” not “cement”! Cement is the glue that binds the elements that collectively make up “concrete”.

    Anyway, USA didn’t prove anything with the win. Honduras had some awful missed chances. All it all, it was about even. USA attack (Jozy “The No Skill Physical Specimen” Altidore) won’t take us to next level. But the love affair will continue. Following more “he has potential” hopes with Jozy and Agudelo, the USMNT will finally realize they wasted time with those two. Just wait and see. . . .

    Reply

    • Posted by Jared on 2011/10/11 at 7:30 AM

      I don’t think any of their missed chances were on the level of Shea and Onyewu. Those were impressively missed chances.

      Reply

    • Posted by matthewsf on 2011/10/11 at 7:43 AM

      Concrete you say – okay I ca fix that.

      For the record, it’s Jozy “The Drifter” Altidore. :>

      Reply

  5. […] of France, check out the plans for Lille’s new 50,000+ stadium. Gorgeous. Shin Guardian goes around the web ahead of the USA/Ecuador match today. Lots of great links and info here. Everyone has thoughts on […]

    Reply

  6. Posted by fellaini's_fro on 2011/10/11 at 8:23 AM

    Or head over to Univision. Though I think it is a simulcast feed with ESPN. While my Spanish is not up to par with many others in my family. My fifteen year old daughter and I think that games on Univision and in Spanish is much more exciting. We even watched replays of last years World Cup on Univision just to gain another perspective on the game.

    I agree that ESPN’s coverage and quality is good. I just can’t stand the commentators at times.

    Regarding Saturday’s game. I thought it was funny that FSC’s main camera had rain drops on the lens. Reminded me of local broadcasts of high school football games.

    One of the things I would like to see is if the pace can be sustained to at least the 75th minute. The friendly at HDC showed a team that was capable of playing at a quick pace for less than a half. Saturday’s game I thought they played a quick pace to about the 60 minute mark.

    Reply

    • Posted by crow on 2011/10/11 at 8:30 AM

      When i go for a stream, I usually go for the Spanish language one. I wish univision was available. Who can forget the famous bunbury call last year in Spanish? Or the Spanish announcer begging for the ball to be switched to a wide open Zach Loyd on the left flank?

      Reply

      • Posted by John on 2011/10/11 at 8:41 AM

        Staty Bi-Lingual my friends…

        Reply

        • Posted by crow on 2011/10/11 at 8:46 AM

          That is amazing! LOL. Thank you for making my day, nay, my week!

          Reply

        • Posted by crow on 2011/10/11 at 8:53 AM

          Speaking of Spanish, what players on the National Team do you enjoy hearing the Spanish announcers pronounce? My favorites are BRICK shAY and rrrobie rogurs.

          Reply

          • Posted by fellaini's_fro on 2011/10/11 at 10:23 AM

            Crow. It is so funny you bring that up. My daughter and I will for days after a game repeat a name in a spanish accent and crack ourselves up.

            DONA – Ban

            My favorite CHUR – UUUN – DOOLO

            Day – MARIT

            DEMP – Say

            Reply

            • Posted by Antonio H. on 2011/10/11 at 5:12 PM

              You forget YO-SEE AHLTEEDORRR. and Yonathan….. BORRRRRNNNNSTAYYYN

    • Posted by EFG on 2011/10/11 at 12:01 PM

      Isn’t “watching your stream in Spanish” beginning to fall in the same category as “eurosnobbery.” Those who watch European soccer predominately point to a lack of quality in MLS and I see parallels to those who watch Spanish internet streams vs ESPN/FSCs.

      Please correct me if I’m wrong

      Reply

      • Posted by John on 2011/10/11 at 12:10 PM

        I don’t see it that way. It really has more to do with multiple things. #1 The Spanish language ones are pulled less frequently than the English language ones and #2 Change of pace is always fun

        I tend to like to hear different viewpoints (what I can understand) and the tone differences/speed from the Spanish/Univision announcers. You can get insight from them that has a slightly different skew than the US announcers. Plus hearing Andres Cantor attempt to mangle Oguchi Onyewu’s name is well worth the price of admission.

        It isn’t better, it is just fun…

        Reply

        • Posted by EFG on 2011/10/11 at 12:15 PM

          OK, I can buy that. Maybe I’ve just been conditioned to read everything that is posted on any sort of blog in the voice of detatched smugness with a dash of hipsterisms (of which I am also guilty).

          Thanks for clearing it up.

          Reply

          • Posted by John on 2011/10/11 at 12:23 PM

            If I have the option to watch the game on TV, I watch on TV. However (for example) the World Cup streams got mangled pretty bad by the internet cops and usage at times, and the games were on during the middle of the day. So sometimes it was really easy to turn on the Univision HD feed.

            I have also watched BPL games in Arabic, Spanish, English, Dutch, Italian, and German.

            Sometimes, when you need to watch a game… you take whatever is on.

            Reply

            • Posted by EFG on 2011/10/11 at 1:38 PM

              It seemed, and I may have just been reading the comments wrong, that people were choosing streams in Spanish in lieu of easily accessible English options. That struck me as a) odd and b) something that was done with no real benefit other than to assert some sort of notion of “viewing superiority” of watching a foreign language feed as it adds some sort of authenticity that John Harkes and JP Dellacamera just don’t provide.

              The answer, it turns out, was much simpler in that I was merely misinterpreting previous comments. Before ESPN3 I watched basically all my Serie A matches on a grainy feed, usually in Arabic.

            • Posted by John on 2011/10/11 at 1:41 PM

              Gotta love the Arabic feeds, 5 minutes of words I don’t understand followed with a punctuated

              !!!RONALDO!!!

              followed by 40 minutes of words I don’t understand.

      • Posted by John Henry on 2011/10/11 at 1:03 PM

        Correct me if I’m wrong, but I got the impression that “eurosnobbery” wasn’t necessarily a blacklisted ideology at TSG. In other words, we don’t judge an argument or a statement based on whether it smacks of “eurosnobbery”.

        Reply

        • Posted by EFG on 2011/10/11 at 1:44 PM

          You aren’t wrong, I just merely used the wrong word to try to convey my point as I couldn’t think of the word I wanted to use. I still can’t.

          I think we’re good here now.

          Reply

        • Posted by John on 2011/10/11 at 1:45 PM

          I think the only blacklisted ideology here is “Not getting pitted” when given a chance.

          I mean… you GOTTA get pitted.

          Reply

      • Posted by Martin on 2011/10/11 at 3:57 PM

        EFG,

        Univision is more lighthearted and fun. These guys don’t seem to take themselves too seriously and they love deliberately mangling names Gooch and Robbie Rogers.

        They may be the only people in the world who still remember that bomb Howard the Duck, hence “el pato”.

        It’s fun listening to Claudio Reyna, Tab Ramos, Juan Agudelo or Donovan give interviews in Spanish. Especially Donovan, with that odd accent.

        I hate listening to Harkes folowed up by listening to Alexi.

        I dislike ESPN on general principles so given the choice Univision seems almost like a step up.

        Reply

        • Posted by fellaini's_fro on 2011/10/11 at 8:41 PM

          Wow didn’t mean to be “gotta be starting something” on here regarding the occasional viewing of Univision for my soccer needs.

          I can totally understand EFG’s thinking there was some type of snobbery when it came to watching the Spanish feeds.

          The written word can be misinterpreted based on our inner context.

          The simple answer as EFG learned is that Univision is fun. I haven’t heard Gooch’s name pronounced in Spanish and can only think of the comical possibilities. I totally forgot about the Boooooooorrrrrrrn – steeeen calls.

          I am sad that Chuuuroooon – dooolo had two very bad games. He was such a beast over the last year and a bright spot in the Gold cup.

          Also the call of GOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLL is exciting or better yet when I watch Barca in spanish.

          Goal y Messi, Goal y Messi, Goal y Messi, Goal y Messi

          Reply

  7. Posted by crow on 2011/10/11 at 8:38 AM

    One thing I agree with dirkanovich on is the fact that the USA is playing a lot more 1 touch passes since Klinsmann took over. The ball is coming off the players feet faster. I wonder if that is one of Klinsmann’s initiatives.

    I want to see Ream given a shot tonight. I also liked the suggestion from Martin to use Edu in the Orozco slot.

    BTW- don’t OCCUPY Wall St.! OCCUPY Red Bull Arena!

    Reply

  8. Posted by dikranovich on 2011/10/11 at 8:57 AM

    was that al michaels calling the equador game back in 07 when donovan was captain and had a hattrick?

    Reply

  9. that video is SICK.
    landon could have had 4 or 5 goals EASY in that game.
    man i wish i was a fan back then too.

    Reply

  10. Posted by crow on 2011/10/11 at 11:50 AM

    What is it with johnny spector sending these laser guided crosses to dempsey for goals? It happened twice in the Confed Cup and then Saturday. As soon as the ball came off Spector’s foot I had a feeling it would be a “goal”. And nice hold up work by Agudelo to make it possible.

    Reply

    • Posted by Jared on 2011/10/11 at 2:18 PM

      Spector is a great crosser of the ball. Unfortunately, he’s not quick enough to really be an effective outside back at the international level because that for me is the one major defect he has a player.

      Reply

  11. Posted by John on 2011/10/11 at 12:31 PM

    FYI today…… Yura Movsisyan assisted on the recent Armenian goal to get Armenia back within one.

    Reply

  12. Posted by dave on 2011/10/11 at 2:00 PM

    Enjoy your futbol blog! Fyi, North Shore 2-4 foot with a nasty case of morning sickness. Hopefully the swell cleans up later today/tomorrow.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Jared on 2011/10/11 at 2:42 PM

    I wonder if Subotic is regretting his choice yet. Serbia is out of Euro 2012. They have a qualifying group of Croatia, Scotland, Belgium, Macedonia and Wales so they aren’t definite to qualify for the World Cup either.

    Reply

    • Posted by Martin on 2011/10/11 at 3:47 PM

      I have no inside information on the man but if he did not regret it when he did it, I see no reason Subotic should regret it now or in the future.

      1. He lives in Germany, all his friends are probably Europeans, he only lived here a few years before making his choice and was living in Germany playing for Mainz when it all came down.

      2. He is 22 now and will be around 24-25 for the next World Cup, 26 -27 for the next Euros and 30-31 for the next World Cup after that. Assuming he maintains his form he still has a good shot at three major trophies, one more than he would have if he played for the US.

      3. You’re ruling out Serbia a little early for 2014. While the qualifying competition is good, Serbia should be as good or better than all of them.

      4. He plays for a good team in the Champions league and the fact that Serbia is so close to Germany, means most of his international duty is not very far away. Contrast that to the great distances a guy like Chandler has to travel and it’s clearly a geographical advantage. That translates into less wear and tear and could conceivably lengthen his career.

      If Subotic has any big regrets, I’d be surprised.

      Reply

  14. Posted by Antonio H. on 2011/10/11 at 4:14 PM

    This is Pablo Ramirez(alongside Jesus Bracamontes) you all are speaking of. He’s my favorite commentator, I’ll always remember his call during the 2009 Gold Cup when Stu scored the equalizer at the death against Haiti. For years Ive been trying to decide whether to watch matches in English or whenever he’s dking the commentary. Sometimes I have no choice whenever I’m with my dad , who is Panamanian, mainly because he’s an action-junkie. He’s well know for his comical pronounciation of names as you all know. You might find this funny http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wP3gztyhZwQ&feature=results_video&playnext=1&list=PL60578C408D7F123C

    Reply

  15. Posted by Antonio H. on 2011/10/11 at 4:53 PM

    Ladies and gentleman. You are officially watching “The Fall of Steve Cherundolo.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

